Record Entries Received For 2024 Automechanika Innovation Awards

More than 150 products are in the running for the Automechanika Frankfurt Innovation Awards in 2024, the largest number of entries since the programme launched. This year the awards features a large number of submissions from the areas of workshop solutions, innovative parts, electromobility and AI.

“The automotive industry is currently facing a massive upheaval like almost no other sector,” said Automechanika Frankfurt. “Increasing digitalisation, climate change and artificial intelligence are challenging manufacturers, workshops and dealerships and making new technological developments more important than ever.”

The awards are divided into nine categories, including two 2024 additions: E-Mobility & Innovative Drive Technologies, and AI & Digitalisation, which accounted for around 20 per cent of submissions. The Workshop & Service Solutions, and Parts & Technology Solutions categories made up more than half of all entries, while the remainder were spread across Body & Paint, Data & Connectivity, Car Wash & Care, Accessories & Customizing, and Commercial Vehicles.

Two independent reviewers, Dr Gerhard Angerer, a consultant who has been involved in the Automechanika Innovation Awards for several years, and Alexander Wottge, Project Manager at IfA, shortlisted the submissions. The list will be used by the 17-member international jury to prepare for a meeting in mid-July when it will decide which products qualify for the awards.

The jury consists of:

  • Hartmut Abeln, CEO of TUEV Nord Mobility
  • Okan Altan, Automotive Journalist at Fast & Bold / CarsNews.TV
  • Ben Brucato, Vice President Membership & Engagement at MEMA Aftermarket Suppliers
  • Juan E. Cantarella, General Manager at Association of Argentine Autoparts Manufacturers (AFAC)
  • Stuart Charity, CEO of the Australian Automotive Aftermarket Association (AAAA)
  • Francisco Nicolas Gonzalez Diaz, Executive President at Automotive Parts Manufacturers Association INA
  • Axel Glanz, Managing Director of Innovationen Institut
  • Edwin Grabowski, Publisher of Carwashinfo
  • Detlef Peter Gruen, Federal Guild Master and Vice President of the German Association of the Automotive Trade (ZDK)
  • Wolfgang Michel, Editor-in-Chief of kfz-betrieb and Gebrauchtwagen-Praxis
  • Jason Moseley, CEO of the International Bodyshop Industry Symposium (IBIS)
  • Jakkie Olivier, Board Member (Non-Executive Director) at Retail Motor Industry Association (RMI)
  • Dr. Stefan Reindl, CEO of IfA
  • Burkhard Riering, Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Automobilwoche
  • Frank Schlehuber, Senior Consultant Market Affairs at the European Association of Automotive Suppliers (CLEPA)
  • Dr.-Ing. Axel Schumacher, University of Wuppertal Chair for Optimization of Mechanical Structures
  • Wang Xia, Chairman of the China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT), Automotive Industry Branch

Automechanika Frankfurt will take place from 10 to 14 September 2024.