Bridgestone title sponsor for World Solar Challenge 2013

Bridgestone will be the title sponsor of the World Solar Challenge 2013, to be held from Darwin to Adelaide October 6-13. 

The Bridgestone World Solar Challenge 2013 will see a record 45 teams from 26 countries participate in a 3000-kilometre contest, which crosses the continent using only solar energy to power the vehicles. The 2013 competition will be the 12th running of the event since 1987. 

“Bridgestone has a global commitment to continually working toward a sustainable society and the Bridgestone World Solar Car Challenge 2013 is a natural extension of this as it encourages and promotes investment and innovation in solar technology,” said Andrew Moffatt, Bridgestone Australia and New Zealand managing director. 

“It’s also a good fit because of the tremendous interest Australian motorists are now taking in technology that can lower the impact of their vehicle on the environment. 

“This is reflected in the success of our Ecopia low-rolling resistance range of tyres, which are continuing to grow in popularity with Australian drivers because of their fuel saving and environmental benefits,” Moffatt said.

Chief executive of the South Australian Motor Sports Board Mark Warren said the Bridgestone partnership continued the high standing of the World Solar Challenge on the global stage. 

“It is fitting that the naming rights for 2013 go to such a progressive company that cites within one of its corporate philosophies ‘Shinshu-Dokuso’, which I’m told means creative pioneering,” Warren said. 

“In our 26-year history we, too, have aspired to be creative pioneers in our quest to realise the dream of the world’s first truly efficient solar electric vehicle. With the support of Bridgestone this quest is one step closer to reality.” 

The Bridgestone World Solar Challenge 2013 will feature three separate classes: the ‘Adventure Class’ for pre-2013 event cars, the ‘Cruiser Class’ for vehicles designed for practicality, and the elite ‘Challenger Class’ – which compete for line honours with the fastest overall time.

Mark Warren (left) and Andrew Moffatt (right)